Vice Chancellor's Secretariat

The Vice Chancellor
The Vice Chancellor exercises the general control and supervision of all administrative, financial and academic matters of the institution. The office of the Vice Chancellor is responsible for implementation of policies and plans for improvements of overall efficiency and administrative management and quality of academic activities at the University. The Vice Chancellor chairs the principal administrative and academic bodies of the University including the 'Syndicate', 'Academic Council', 'Executive Committee', 'Advanced Studies and Research Board', 'Selection Board' and the 'Finance Committee'.

Maj Gen (R) Prof. Muhammad Aslam

Vice Chancellor
MBBS [Pb], M. Phil. [Pb], Ph.D [London]
FPAMS, FCPS [Pak], FCPS [Bangladesh]
E-mail :

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aslam is the third vice chancellor of UHS. A graduate of Nishtar Medical College Multan, Prof Aslamís area of specialization is physiology with special interest in reproductive endocrinology and high altitude physiology.

He did his MPhil from Postgraduate Medical Institute Lahore in 1982 and later moved to the UK where he did PhD in Physiology from St.Thomasís Hospital Medical School, University of London in 1987. He is also a fellow of Pakistan Academy of Medical Sciences and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan.

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aslam has more than 35 years experience in teaching and research at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. He has served as the Principal of Army Medical College Rawalpindi, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, National University of Sciences & Technology (NUST) Rawalpindi, Principal of Shifa College of Medicine Islamabad, and also as Vice Chancellor, Shifa Tameer-e-Millat University, Islamabad.

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aslam has more than 120 publications to his credit. He is a recipient of several honours and awards including Hilal-i-Imtiaz (Military), President Gold Medal for Best University Teacher (2006-07), Best University Teacher Award (2005) by Higher Education Commission of Pakistan and Productive Scientist of Pakistan Award (2007) by Pakistan Council for Science and Technology.